Legal Beagle by Graeme Edgeler


Election 2014: the no threshold counterfactual

As I have done on election night of the last two elections, I present below the New Zealand House of Representatives, had the election been conducted with no threshold: 

National – 57
ACT – 1
United Future – 1

– 5

New Zealand First – 11
Maori Party 
– 2

Labour – 30
The Greens – 12
Internet MANA – 2

(total 121 MPs)

Obviously, if the rules were different, the vote would be different. I make no claim that this would have happened (almost certainly, it would not have), but I think it's interesting to look at it anyway.

21 responses to this post

Post your response…

Please sign in using your Public Address credentials…


You may also create an account or retrieve your password.